Unrequited like (Part II – AN EPIPHANY!)

canttakeahint

I’ve had an epiphany!

In my last post I wrote about this interesting situation I have found myself in.

There’s this pretty nice guy who really likes me (Edgar) — he’s actually pretty smitten, but the feelings aren’t exactly mutual.

Then…

There’s a guy I’ve been seeing (or had been seeing…candidly, I’m not sure what’s going on now) Eddie, that I’ve enjoyed spending time with and getting to know, but he doesn’t seem to be that into me. I’m not sure why and at this point it stings a bit, but that isn’t important now.

The past couple of days have been challenging on both fronts; I don’t want to focus on Eddie so much because I think that ship has sailed. But I’ve been enlightened and I thank God for that because–

I’M ACTING LIKE EDGAR: THE GUY WHO CAN’T TAKE A HINT

For the past few weeks, this somewhat charming, somewhat handsome, smart, funny (maybe more in his own mind), very stable, responsible, family-oriented man has been doing a LOT to get my attention.

Edgar has texted, he’s called, he’s tried to find every opportunity he can to spend time with me. He’s told me he’s just driven and he goes after what he wants.

Even when I don’t respond to his texts or calls (which is rare…I have a hard time ignoring people), Edgar’s persistent. He has no problem reminding me that he’s out there — waiting and available. He’ll take any time I have to share with him. I can tell whenever I contact him first that he’s genuinely excited that I’ve reached out. It literally makes his day.

Well, with all that it dawned on me, just today as a matter of fact: I may be looking in the mirror (well, maybe if I squint and turn my head to the side a bit, lol).

It’s not to the same extent, but when it comes to Eddie, I’m acting like Edgar. And there can be something really refreshing about being so smitten with someone that you toss all logical thought to the wind and say, “I’m going to do everything I can to convince this person I’m good for them.” Or, “Here, look at me, look at me…I could be the one!”

Edgar has known me for years and apparently has always been interested in me — he believes it’s our time despite the fact that we’ve seen each other once in the past five years.  We really haven’t had any deep conversations. In fact, here lately he’s been trying to convince me that he can take care of all of my sexual wants and needs (Newsflash: when you aren’t that interested in someone, sex may not be a big selling point in convincing them otherwise.)

Wait, I’VE DONE THAT (at times) WITH EDDIE! SMH…

The reality is, as nice as Edgar is, I’m just not feeling him and the more he pushes, the more turned off I am. Pursuing someone can be flattering to a point and Edgar is probably an awesome guy who will make some woman very happy in the future, but at this point, I don’t think I’m that woman.

“And Mel, you may not be that for Eddie either. Chasing someone is only attractive to a point…even if you are a woman.”

Yep, I know.

Leave a comment